2021 Title Winners: Who Won What This Season? - Virtus 70 Motoworks

2021 Title Winners: Who Won What This Season?

The 2021 FIM MotoGP World Championship was the exclusive class of the 73rd F.I.M. Road Racing World Championship season. 

Fabio Quartararo secured his first world title, with five race wins ahead of winning the title in the third last race of the season. 

Quartararo became the first ever Frenchman to secure the premier class title, which was also the first title for a non-Spanish rider since Australian Casey Stoner in 2011. 

The season also witnessed Francesco Bagnaia and Jorge Martín win their first premier class races. 

In the overall standings, Bagnaia won second place and reigning champion Joan Mir won third place, while Martín was named rookie of the year. 

Ducati won the constructors' championship for the second consecutive season and the teams' championship for the first time since 2007. In total, eight different riders secured Grands Prix during the season.

Six-time MotoGP champion Marc Márquez returned at the third race of the year after his hand and shoulder injury which had sidelined him from the 2020 season. 

Having initially had a problem with the injury, the former champion won three races from summer onwards.

 It was also the final season of seven-time MotoGP title winner Valentino Rossi after 22 seasons in the exclusive class, as well as the final season in which a 500cc-era debutant participated in the premier class.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.